#BookReview: Athena’s Champion by David Hair & Cath Mayo

Genre
Mythology

Series
Olympus Trilogy #1

Buy Links
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Barnes and Noble

Social Media
David Hair
Official Website
Facebook
Twitter

Cath Mayo
Official Website
Facebook
Twitter



DESCRIPTION: 
The first in a thrilling new historical fantasy series; Odysseus must embrace his secret heritage and outwit the vengeful Gods who would control or destroy him…

Prince Odysseus of Ithaca is about to have his world torn apart. He’s travelled to the oracle at Pytho to be anointed as heir to his island kingdom; but instead the Pythia reveals a terrible secret, one that tears down every pillar of his life, and marks him out for death.

Outcast by his family, hunted by the vengeful gods, Odysseus is offered sanctuary by Athena, goddess of wisdom, and thrust into the secret war between the Olympians for domination and survival. Only his wits, and his skill as a warrior, can keep him ahead of their power games – and alive.

When one of Athena’s schemes goes drastically wrong, and the young Helen of Sparta is kidnapped, Odysseus must journey past the gates of Hades to save her. Falling in love with a Trojan princess, a bewitching woman who poses a deadly threat to both his homeland and Athena, won’t make his task any easier…

Drawing from classic Greek mythology, Athena's Champion, first in the epic Olympus series, is perfect for fans of Madeline Miller and David Gemmell.


REVIEW: 
David Hair and Cath Mayo’s Athena’s Champion should come with a disclaimer. I don’t want to put too fine a point on it, but something to like “Warning: This novel is impossible to put down, will very likely leave the reader breathless, and is not recommended for those with conditions that may be aggravated by fast-paced adventure” would be great.

One might think a story about Odysseus would be hard to breathe new life into, but Athena’s Champion is both fresh and creative. Using Theseus’ abduction of Helen as a template, Hair and Mayo craft an imaginative conflict that tangibly threatens both the Gods and those sworn to their service.

The narrative is definitely on the heavier side, but I enjoyed the time I spent with it and look forward to the next installment of the Olympus series.

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Obtained from: Netgalley
Read: October 5, 2018

"Whether this alleged plot he speaks of is true or false, it forces us to ask what Zeus wants from you, his son and daughter. Indeed, what does Zeus intend for Sparta, or for Achea."

RECOMMENDATIONS: RELATED READING




Comments