#BookReview: Daughter of War by S.J.A. Turney

Genre
War Era Historical
Biographic Historical

Buy Links
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Barnes & Noble

Social Media
Official Website
Facebook
Twitter



DESCRIPTION: 
An extraordinary story of the Knights Templar, seen from the bloody inside

Europe is aflame. On the Iberian Peninsula the wars of the Reconquista rage across Aragon and Castile. Once again, the Moors are gaining the upper hand. Christendom is divided.

Amidst the chaos comes a young knight: Arnau of Valbona. After his Lord is killed in an act of treachery, Arnau pledges to look after his daughter, whose life is now at risk. But in protecting her Arnau will face terrible challenges, and enter a world of Templars, steely knights and visceral combat he could never have imagined.

She in turn will find a new destiny with the Knights as a daughter of war… Can she survive? And can Arnau find his destiny?

An explosive novel of greed and lust, God and blood, Daughter of War marks the beginning of an epic new series from bestseller S.J.A. Turney. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Matt Harffy. 


REVIEW: 
S.J.A. Turney is one of the few authors I trust to turn out a great read every time. His grasp of military history is fantastic, but his ability to balance that detail with compelling character and complex themes is nothing short of brilliant.

Daughter of War features the Knight’s Templar but is centered squarely on Arnau of Vallbona, a young knight who has pledged to look after Titborga, daughter of his late Lord but it is his association with his charge that makes this Templar tale unique.

In highlighting the existence of Titborga and Ermengarda, women who actually existed and held positions within the Temple, Turney managed to bring an authentic feminine element to traditionally masculine subject matter. The end result is incredibly thought-provoking and gives genuine insight to an overlooked aspect of the Order’s inner workings, politics, and structure.

The novel has a lot of battle scenes, but Turney’s handling is not abrasive. I personally loved the imagery he created and hold great appreciation for his ability place his readers in the thick of things without losing his audience amid of a torrent of confusing action.

A recommended and valued edition of my personal library. Can’t wait to see how its sequel, The Last Emir, measures up.

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Obtained from: Personal Kindle Library
Read: January 2, 2019

Titborga shook her head. ‘I give my body and my estate to the order and my soul to the Lord. Della Cadeneta will have none of them.’

RECOMMENDATIONS: RELATED READING




Comments